The Romanian National Opera Bucharest

, , , Posted by on
The Romanian National Opera Bucharest Building

The Romanian National Opera Bucharest is one of the four National Operas in Romania and it is considered the largest lyrical theater in the country. The name “Romanian Opera” was used nationwide long before a special building was designated for hosting the many local opera and ballet shows. The writer, conductor and singer George Stephanescu is the one who has always fought for creating this artistic institution, which he funded under the name “The Romanian Opera Company”.

The Romanian lyric theater tradition has more than two centuries, marked by outstanding artists that have enriched our country’s musical culture. At the beginning of 1772 historians mention the presence of an opera band in Bucharest, but only in 1919 the Romanian National Opera was funded. Starting then, it has become the first lyrical stage in the country where the most important opera concerts were held. Its repertory includes over 150 titles of opera and ballet, some of the most diversified and spectacular International music pieces ever created.

A particular attention was shown to the development of the Romanian classical music, which has known a remarkable progress thanks to the work of world famous writers such as Gheorghe Dumitrescu, George Enescu, Zeno Vancea, Alfred Mendelsohn, Mircea Kiriac, Laurentiu Profeta and Cornel Trailescu. The new location of the Romanian National Opera was built in 1953, in Bucharest, and it represents a more appropriate and elegant setting for hosting the wonderful and rich opera and ballet stage offered by Romanian culture.

Bucharest’s lyrical band was launched on the 8th of May 1885, hosting progressively a repertory that became richer by the day. At the beginning, the company included mostly Italian and French opera that were very popular at that moment, but also comedy opera from the National portfolio, in which debuted some of the most iconic Romanian voices of all time.

Although the existence of an artistic Romanian band of lyrical theater known as the Romanian Opera Company was made public in 1885, the founding of the Romanian Opera as an institution financed by the Public Budget was possible only in 1921. The absolute premiere took place with the Lohengrin opera show under the directions of George Enescu.

The current building of the Romanian Opera, with a capacity of 952 places, was constructed in 1953 according to the sketch of the famous architect Octav Doicescu. It was named the Opera and Ballet Theater and it was focused on two big International events: the third World Youth Congress (25-30 July) and the fourth World Festival of Youth and Students (2-14 August), but it was inaugurated only on the 9th of January 1954 when the “Queen of Spades” opera show by Piotr Ilici Ceaikovski was hosted.

The façade of the building has a portico with three monumental arcades decorated with the statues of four muses and three access doors which allow the entrance in the sumptuous lobby constructed on two levels. The building is listed on the list of Bucharest’s historical monuments with the code B-II-m-B-19004.

The opera hall has a horseshoe shape. The stage is 24 meters wide, 20 meters deep and 30 meters tall. At the last floor there is the Opera Museum. In the park located in front of the building there is the statue of the great musician George Enescu, a bronze sculpture made by Ion Jalea. Also in front of the building, but facing the entrance, there is the statue of the writer Gheorghe Stephanescu (1843 – 1925), the founder of the Romanian Opera.

On the building’s front side instead of two smaller arcades, which used to initially frame the larger ones, two reliefs were added, one that depicts an opera scene (made by the sculptors Zoe Baicoianu and Boris Caragea), and the other of two ballet dancers flying( the sculptor being Ion Vlad). In the opera hall there is a magnificent chandelier with 100 branches made on golden crystal. Occasionally, some shows are hosted in the Yellow Foyer, which has a capacity of maximum 200 places.

Schitul Darvari

, Posted by on

Right in the center of Bucharest, where you can hear the city beating there is a small oasis of quietness. Here you can feel serenity, faith and get a bit closer to God. The name of the place is Darvari Hermitage. This is a place that has nothing to do with the hectic urban set. It is actually very similar to the remote monasteries where you usually go to hear the call of your spirituality. The locals are very familiar with this sanctuary and more and more tourists discover its uniqueness every year.

Between old houses, embassies and beautiful architecture there is the Darvari Hermitage. To be more exact, next to “Gradina Icoanei”. As soon as you walk inside, you step into another world. Here, time stays still, belief takes over and you experience another pace of life. It is a monastery in the center of the busiest city in Romania, a calm area surrounded by rush and noise.

The hermitage was built in 1834 by Mihail Darvari and his wife, Elena, born in the Buzesti family. The worship place was made of wood, it didn’t have a tower and its patrons were Saint Lazarus, the Saints Constantine and Helen and the Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel. The small church was constructed as a praying place for the family and their friends. The founders have also built the stone walls, sanctums, and in 1835, 12 nuns were brought to the hermitage to form its first monastic community.

Between 1989 and 2002 the hermitage was the subject of intensive restoration works. Its beautiful paintings were deteriorated due to the abundance of smoke used during the communist period, the sanctums were also in a poor shape and the bell tower was unusable. Following the original architectural plans, Darvari Hermitage has been restored to its original conditions. Now the worship place is opened to visitors and it is a wonderful monastic setttlement where you can admire church architecture, mural paintings, enjoy tranquility and discover a little bit of history.

This sanctuary is the work of art of the renowned architect Nicolae Vladescu. It is a complex construction which includes 9 sanctums, the refectory, the bell tower, a shop and a small prayer chapel. Since 2007, the abbot of the Darvari monastic settlement is the archimandrite father Teofil Anastasoaie.

On 8 November 2011, at the celebration of the second patrons of the church, the Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel, Patriarch Daniel has held a special ceremony for blessing the church’s paintings, iconostasis and the new silver reliquary where there are kept small parts of holly relics. The silver reliquary was made in the Romanian Patriarchate’s workshops.

If you want to discover a unique place in Bucharest’s modern setting then you should consider visiting Darvari Hermitage, a holly destination with a rich history. Here every step unveils amazing architecture, religious art and a return to spirituality.

Rihanna’s First Romanian Concert

, , , Posted by on

It is going to be an unforgettable summer for Bucharest. Sources from the musical industry claim that on 14th of August Rihanna will sing at her first concert in Romania. At there’s more! The artist won’t be coming alone, but accompanied by a Grammy winner- The Weekend!

The best news of the year comes from the music industry. Romanians were waiting for a couple of years now for this event and now it will finally come true. Rihanna will end her European tour with a concerted that will be hosted in Bucharest. The show is scheduled for 14 August when she will light up the stage at the grand finale of her tour in Europe which is meant to promote her new album “Anti”. After her concert in Zurich that will be held on the 12 of August Rihanna will fly to Bucharest where she will spend an entire day resting and preparing for the big event. She will meet her fans on Sunday night where she will impress everyone with her amazing performance.

Various locations were considered, but in the end, it was decided that the concert will take place in the “Constitution Square”. It seems that this location is very popular among foreign artists since the pictures posted by Robbie Williams and Bon Jovi after their concerts in Romania circled the globe, becoming one of the most preferred sites for concert planners.

As we were saying earlier, there’s more! Rihanna doesn’t want to sing with local artists at the opening of her concerts. She wants a sure bet so she decided to opt for The Weekend, a singer that enjoys a great success these days. Recently, the artist has received a Grammy award for the soundtrack of “Fifty shades of Grey” and it is always present in the most important top 10s. The Weekend will walk on the stage from “Constitution Square” at 20:00 o’clock and he will prepare the Romanian audience for an incredible concert.

The show will exceed all expectations, the décor will be unforgettable and the number of dancers will be over a couple dozens. The Barabados artist is famed for her unconventional appearances, hot choreography, provocative attitude and unique shows so this Romanian concert will surely be one of the most anticipated events ever.

In the meanwhile, Rihanna sets new records with her recent song “Work”. The controversial music video is one of the main factors of its success, the song being already number one in International tops. There are two versions of this video and both are equally explicit.

In august, before the concert in Romania, the 28 years old artist will sing in Sweden, Poland, Germany, Austria and Switzerland. This extensive European tour promotes her new album “Anti”. Until now, Rihanna has launched 8 studio albums that were sold in over 150 million copies worldwide. Her flaming career brought her 8 Grammy prizes as well.

The wait is over. Rihanna’s concert is a sure thing. The extremely popular artist will be on the 14th August in Bucharest to perform for us in the “Constitution Square”. This is one of the greatest events of 2016, a music recital that will make this summer truly unforgettable.

Lacul Morii

, , Posted by on

Mill Lake is one of the largest lakes in Bucharest, a beautiful place that offers beautiful and lush landscapes for those who are looking for a serene destination where they can relax and enjoy a slower pace of life. With an area of 246 ha and located at 6 km from Bucharest’s center, this blue attraction is one of the most appreciated destinations for locals or tourists with a passion for photography and unique scenery.

Mill Lake is actually an accumulation lake created in 1986 on Dambovita River after closing the Ciurel Dam, a dam that was built for protecting Bucharest from floods. The lake is located between the Crangasi neighborhood, Giulest neighborhood and Chiajna village. Mill Lake also allowed the construction of a recreational area in Crangasi neighborhood and ensures a rate of clean leakage on Dambovita within the Capital’s limits.

The Lake resulted when the 15 meters tall Ciurel Dam was built which has a central concrete body reinforced with earth dams that measure 7 km. It truly is a remarkable man made construction that generated one of the most stunning artificial lakes in the country. In the northern side of the lake there is one of its most interesting treasures, a 32.723 m² peninsula called “Mill Lake Island” which is connected to the lake’s shore by a narrow trail of land.  To enhance its beauty, in 2011 a few volunteers planted 475 trees here. Due to its unique and exotic beauty, the Mill Lake Island hosted a few very important music concerts, festivals, water sports and shows. For instance, the “Coke Live” music festival took place here.

Mainly, the lake is used as a recreational destination and very often it offers cultural shows, Air-Show exhibitions, scooter, boat and sailboats competitions. Windsurf is another increasingly popular sports on Mill Lake. Actually, here there are courses for water sky, windsurf, sky jet and other modern water sports.

There are even a few projects that plan to turn Mill Lake into a travel destination, a residential complex, a business and a commercial center. To ease the access to this fantastic attraction there is even a project of building a highway tunnel that would connect Bucharest’s center with Mill Lake and A1 highway.

The lake was built by the communists on a ground that used to be occupied by the Saint Nicolas Church and its cemetery. These two were covered by concrete and initially the architects wanted to build in the center of the lake shops, promenades and benches. But these plans were seized in ’89 and in their place Mill Lake resulted. Now this is the favorite destination for photographers, locals or tourists who are looking for a green alternative to the grayish city décor.

When you are in the mood of discovering a beautiful gem in Bucharest do not hesitate to take a short trip to Mill Lake where you can admire one of the largest lakes in the city, stunning scenery and even try out some thrilling water sports.

Maroon 5 in Coming to Bucharest

, , Posted by on

The Californian band, Maroon 5 will sing for the first time in Romania on the 5th of June 2016. Adam Levine and its band will perform for their Romanian fans in the very popular “Constitution Square” from Bucharest. The much anticipated event will be hosted by Marcel Avram, East European Production and D&D East Entertainment. It is a project that was planned for a couple of years now as a response for the millions of fans who were looking forward for the chance to meet their music icons.

As expected, concert tickets to the Maroon 5 show don’t come cheap. There are several types of tickets available depending on the stage proximity. The Diamond Circle tickets cost 572,40 RON, Golden Circle tickets are 464,40 RON and Normal Circle/General Access are 194,40 RON. There were also 5000 General Access Early Bird tickets that were available at the promotional price of 151,20 RON. These were completely sold in less than 10 minutes after becoming available online.

Maroon 5 is promoting its 5th studio album called “V”. Launched in 2014, the disc was number one in the U.S. Billboard 200 charts. The band’s Bucharest concert is actually part of the “Maroon V Tour” started in February 2015 in the US.

Until now the “V” album was promoted through 5 singles: “Maps” and “Animals” in 2014, “Sugar”, This Summer’s Gonna Hurt like a Motherfucker” and “Feelings” in 2015. The songs were recorded in Los Angeles and produced by Max Martin, Benny Blanco, Ryan Tedder from Onerepublic, Shellback and Sam Martin. The band worked for about a year at the album, and it is the result of the hard work of old crew members like Adam Levine, James Valentine, Mickey Madden, Matt Flynn, PJ Morton, and of the keyboardist Jesse Carmichael who took a break during the recording of the “Overexposed” material.

The band debuted in 1994 and its initial name was Kara’s Flowers. Only in 2001 the crew members felt that a name change was much needed. So when the guitar player James Valentine joined the band, they opted for “Maroon 5”. Since them, the members remained the same except the break took by Carmichael. The crew members are Adam Levine (voice and guitar), Jesse Carmichael (keyboards, synthesizers, guitar and backing vocals), Mickey Madden (bass), James Valentine (guitar, backing vocals), Matt Flynn (drums) and PJ Morton (keyboards and backing vocals).

According to Billboard, Maroon 5 occupies the 44th place in the list “Greatest of All Time Hot 100 Artists”. Some of the most famous songs launched by Maroon 5 are “She Will Be Loved”, “This Love”, “Payphone”, “Moves Like Jagger”, “One More Night”, “Misery”, “Won’t Go Home Without You”, “Sunday Morning” and “Animals”. Also, the debut single from the album “V” is called Maps and it set the record for the best start of a band in Top 40 from the last 18 years and it entered Top 100 in over 18 countries.

Maroon 5’s Bucharest concert is one of the most exciting events of 2016. It is a musical event that will gather a large crowd of fans who have been following the band’s evolution and amazing success throughout the years.

Hanul cu Tei (The Linden Tree Inn)

, , Posted by on

The Linden Tree Inn is one of the few historical inns from Bucharest’s center that are still in their initial condition. Due to its unique architecture and vintage atmosphere that revive the charm of old Bucharest, a visit within its walls equals a wonderful walk back in time, to be more specific, in the ‘30s when culture, music and good food blended in the most refined possible way. This is one of the most intriguing and interesting tourist attractions in the Capital. Its historical and architectural value is outmatched only by its fame and beauty.

The building was constructed in 1833 by Anastasie Hagi, Gheorghe Polizu and Stefan Popovici on Lipscani street. When it was first opened, it was known as the Inn from the great street of the Marchitans. It is the only historical Inn from Bucharest that has conserved its initial architecture intact. At the entrance from Blanari Street you can still see the mark of its first owners: “A.P.” and “S.P.”.

Each owner had 14 shops, located in the upper side of the vaulted cellars. Only the sidewalk and the guard’s room were considered common space. Some of the most famous merchants of that time lived in this inn, among who we mention Constantin Anastasiu, the founder of the shop “The Sea Eagle with the Fish in its Claws”, a building that still stands, but which has been turned into a bank, near the “Cocor” shopping center.

Today, the former inn is a place where there are hosted various art galleries, and in the cellars a bar was opened. Its iron gates with rich retro ornaments offer access both from the Lipscani street and from Blanari street. Also, the glass façade of the inn is created in the typical style of the old Romanian Land.

Among the Gabroveni Inn, Manuc Inn, the Old Coffee Shop and the Princely Palace, the “Linden Tree Inn” is one of the most significant buildings for the old Romanian architecture and also one of the few places that preserves a special ambiance, defining for the ‘30s. Nowadays, the “Linden Tree Inn” hosts one of the biggest art galleries in Romania. Here you can find vintage art like furniture, paneling, tapestries and rugs, paintings, photos, albums, old documents, watches, cameras and gramophones, coins, medals and icons. The art gallery includes several salons: Louis XV salon, Louise-Philippe salon, Rococo salon and Louis XVI salon. The inn’s Spanish style interior courtyard has a rectangular shape and it can be accessed from two separate vaulted entrances that are locked during the night by two heavy iron gates.

Due to its important cultural significance, the “Linden Three Inn” is considered an architectural ensemble and it is included in the list of Bucharest’s Historical Monuments 2010. Also, the “Linden Tree Inn” has its own street with identical name which is located in the Capital’s historical center, in Sector 3. The street “Linden Tree Inn” measures a length of 75 meters and can be found between the well-known streets Lipscani and Blanari.

For a trip back in time don’t hesitate to visit the “Linden Tree Inn” a place with a rich historical importance that repays its visitors with a fine selection of vintage art. Its beauty, charm and cultural value are the things that turn it into a must see tourist attractions.

Romanian Military Museum King Ferdinand I

Posted by on

The National Military Museum King Ferdinand I is one of the largest historical institution from Romania. The museum has a surface of 22,150 square meters, being one of the most important and visited cultural attractions in the country. The exhibition area is composed of buildings with a total number of nine floors and an exterior park dedicated to military technique where there are displayed artillery items, armors and vehicles.

The National Military Museum includes 7 pavilions organized into: Pavilion A for ancient, medieval, modern and contemporary military history and Lapidarium; Pavilion B for the collections of uniforms, armaments and the exhibition hall; Pavilion C for the library, the restoration laboratory, deposits and workshops; Pavilion D for the administration of the National Military Museum; Pavilion C1 for the aviation section; Pavilion F for the collection of carts and carriages; and the Pavilion for artillery, tanks and vehicles.

The Romanian Military Museum’s Campus includes 1.280.000 items, organized into: 27 collections with fire arms, Romanian uniforms, uniforms of foreign orders, medals, plaques, badges, coins, archeology, flags, religious objects, artillery and gunners endowment; 22 documentary collections with heritage clichés, current books, periodicals, original photographs, letters and manuscripts, prints, drawings, old books, fund “The Heroes Cult “. Out of these collections, a small part is exhibited along with the permanent exhibitions, the other part being displayed to the public within the temporary expositions organized inside the museum or in collaboration with other museums in the country or abroad.

Some of the most extraordinary and rarest objects included in the National Military Museum’s patrimony are: the orders’ necklaces of Carol I, the Religious Service, the Ruling House and Romania’s Star. The orders of Mihai Viteazu, Philip the Noble (Hessa-Darmstadt), Pius IX (Vatican), Cristos (Portugalia), Leopold (Belgia), The Lion and the Sun( Persia), Spade (Sweden / Norway), Baii (England), the Legion of Honor (France), Crown of Italy, Maurice and Lazarus (Italy), Phoenix (Greece), Knight of the Iron Cross (Germany) and many others.

The collection of flags includes numerous valuable pieces, some of which we should mention the royal flag of Constantin Ipsilanti, flags and banners of military units from 1830 to date, royal pavilions and foreign flags.

The Romanian Military Museum King Ferdinand I plays a very important role in knowing the historical traditions of the Romanian army. Founded in 1923 by a decree signed by King Ferdinand, this institution enjoyed over the years both the attention of the Royal House, which made numerous donations, as well as the support of some very important personalities like Radu Rosetti, Alexandru Tzigara-Samurcas, Vasile Parvan and Nicolae Iorga.

The valuable patrimony of the Museum is mostly represented by objects related to the military field, but it offers such a diverse and important cultural experience.  A visit to the National Military Museum equals a voyage in time and space, a chance to discover and admire the way in which there are recreated different historical eras.

Tepes Castle in Bucharest

, Posted by on

If you ever find yourself simply walking through Carol Park and you have enough time on your hands to discover a less common tourist attraction, with a medieval appearance and gorgeously built out of red bricks, then be prepared to be surprised. Right in the center of the park there is the Water Tower that was built by the architects Stefan Burcus and V. Stephanescu in 1906, to commemorate 40 years from the coronation of Carol I, a moment when the Romanian authorities decided to organize the famous Romanian General Exhibition.

The Tepes Castle had a functional and utilitarian purpose. It was supposed to host a water reservoir, but it never fulfilled its purpose and it remained in history as the building that copied the architecture of the original Tepes Palace from Poenari, Arges County. Those who are interested in visiting this tourist attraction, it can be found on Candiano Popescu Street no. 6, Bucharest.

The Catle’s tower, measuring about 20 meters high and 8 meters in diameter, used to host a huge cylindrical iron basin with a capacity of 200 cubic meters and a 6 meters diameter. This was able to fill the inside of the tower entirely, leaving room only for a narrow spiraled staircase, which used to climb almost to the top of the building. The basin was constructed in the workshops of Oscar Maller and was assembled in the Palace’s interior.

From the Castle’s tower, from a special platform, one could admire Carol Park and Bucharest’s panorama. A powerful counterfort, completed by a wooden porch, holds the tower from crashing down, and in the right side there is a castellated stone wall, finished in the corner with another tower of smaller sizes.

Sadly, short after Queen Elizabeth opened the Exhibition, accompanied by the notes of 100 thumpers and the gun shots of the Calafat Company, the water basin became unused and it remained this way until this day.

After the relocation of the Unknown Soldier at Marasesti and the inauguration on 30 December 1963, the mausoleum nearby (built on the site of the former National Military Museum), Tepes Castle continued to be used by soldiers who provided security for Carol Park.

In 2010, the Castle was included in the list of national historical monuments which meant respecting a set of specific rules, applicable to those buildings which were part of the National Patrimony.

Unfortunately, the access at the inside of the castle is permitted only twice a year, due to security reasons. The building hasn’t been repaired or restored since 1990. The only days when the Castle can be visited are National Heroes Day and Army Day (25th of October). Still, every visit is one that you will surely remember. Besides the unique architectural style, you will also enjoy a gorgeous view of Carol Park and you will also get to visit the Mausoleum and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

The Old Princely Court

, , Posted by on

The Old Princely Court was the first Royal Court built in Bucharest. Initially, it included a Palace, a church, spaces meant for servants and the royal gardens. We know only a few details about the Court’s founder, but according to historical researchers who have studied the history of Bucharest, it was built by Mircea cel Batran. Today, the Old Princely Court is an outdoor museum which hosts quite often cultural events, festivals and medieval art fairs.

The first Royal building in Bucharest, the Old Princely Court was constructed by Mircea cel Batran between the end of the XIV century and the beginning of the XV century. It is one of the most important historical sites from the Capital’s Old Town. In 1972 it was turned into a museum that has the same name and which is an original representation of the vestiges of the royal residences from the XVI-XIX centuries. Even now you can still see the foundations of the XIV century city and the stone walls of Bucurestilor city.

The Old Princely Court was the place where for a couple hundred years the nobles used to gather, where the history of a country that was mostly under the Ottoman’s threat was written. The Old Court was also the place where the first Romanian literature was born, where the national spirit regained its originality through art and culture.

According to historians, the Old Princely Court was located on a very tall hill and it was surrounded to the South by the very high bank of the Dambovita River and to the other cardinal points by very strong walls. The access into the Old Court was possible through two opposite gates.

The first gate which was located at the intersection of Smardan and Halelor Street had several names like the Upper Gate, The German Tower, the Royal Bell, and much later after the stone tower was ruined, the Red Tower. The second gate, the Lower Gate, was located in the place where Mosilor Street begins.

In the XV century, Vlad Tepes, the ruller of the Romanian Country, consolidated the city and turned it into his royal residence, an alternative to the one he already had in Targoviste.

The old Princely Court suffered over the years numerous restorations works, starting with second half of the XIV century, from Basarab cel Tanar and until Mircea Ciobanul, Matei Basarab and Constantin Brancoveanu.

After the fire from 1718 which destroyed almost the entire Bucharest and after the earthquake in 1738, the Old Princely Court was closed.

Nowadays, the Old Court is just a cluster of ruins – a few ancient Turkish baths and old walls that mark the limits of the former royal palace. The ruins of the Old Princely Court become a protected archaeological site, turned into a museum named “Old Princely Court Museum”. It is a very interesting and fascinating tourist attraction in Bucharest that offers a rich and unique cultural experience.

Romanian Athenaeum

Posted by on

The Athenaeum is the symbol-building for the entire Romanian Culture. Built in the heart of Bucharest 120 years ago, between 1886 and 1888, it became the architectural and spiritual landmark not just for a city, for a capital, but also for an entire nation.

Here is where the greatest Romanian personalities and scientists have lectured, where famous artists held their concerts, where true musical masterpieces where launched, where ample exhibitions took place, where kings, queens, politicians and foreign guests took part at important national and international events. Basically, the Romanian Athenaeum hosted some of the most significant historical moments that will forever be remembered in history.

Few know that the Romanian Athenaeum was built with the money raised from public donations, after organizing a national lottery with 500,000 tickets priced at 1 leu. The founder of the Society Romanian Athenaeum, Constantin Esarcu, came up with a funny, but simple slogan “Give one leu for the Athenaeum!” The idea of this project has surprisingly turned into a true lesson of solidarity.

The Romanian Athenaeum was designed by the French architect Albert Galleron after the scientific researches and indications of Alexandru Odobescu, and it was also reviewed and completed by a large team of Romanian specialists like Ion Mincu, Al.Orascu, Grigore Cerkez, Ion Socolescu and Cucu Starostescu. The construction of this important cultural institution wasn’t possible just due to the public donations, but also due to the existing foundations of the Diocese Garden that were supposed to be used for building a circus. Inspired by the ancient Greek temples the building amazes right from the first moment with a historical colonnade which sustains a triangular gable.

At the ground floor, the impressive lobby made from marble includes the 12 Doric columns that hold the concert hall. Four monumental baroque spiraled staircases made of Carrara marble, with balconies at the intermediary floor, make the connection with the hall and the annexed rooms (offices, rehearsal rooms and changing rooms). Organized as the old Greco-Roman amphitheaters, the 1,000 sitting places offer a perfect view from any angle and an impeccable audition. The flawless sound propagation is a consequence of the huge dome which absorbs the instrumental and vocal backgrounds from the podium, and distributes it through reverberations towards the auditors.

The exceptional acoustics of the sound cavity featured by the Romanian Athenaeum has placed the hall among the best buildings of this kind not only from Europe, but from the entire world. Some of the unique things that have turned the Romanian Athenaeum into a complex and distinctive architectural attraction are the Fresca which evokes the history of the Romanian people in 25 episodes, made for five years by the painter Costin Petrescu, the pipe organ installed in 1939, numerous technical improvements like the introduction of air conditioning, ceiling restoration, modern seats, boxes redistribution and the widening of scenes. For over 50 years, the Romanian Athenaeum has become the headquarters for the “George Enescu” Philarmonics, and starting with 1958 the place where all the “George Enescu” International Festivals are hosted.

1 2 3 4 5 8

Featured Properties